My Top 10 Macy’s Parade Balloons

The title is very self-explanatory. I want to list my favorite balloons that I’ve enjoyed as a kid up to current parades. Note that I said “my top 10” instead of “top 10 of all time.” It drives me nuts whenever I click on a YouTube video of top 10 cartoons of all time and every entry originated on Nick Toons. So here are My top 10 in no particular order.

Snoopy

The balloon has made it’s first appearance in 1968 and has become a favorite ever since. It has become more prominent when Macy’s starting selling Snoopy plush dolls with the Macy’s logo on them. It is now at the 6th version and still going strong. Definitely a parade classic!

Pink Panther

Unfortunately this balloon is no longer featured at the parade because the show is rarely aired and the size of the balloon is larger than the newer size requirements. I remember the balloon appearing in many parades when I was a child and will always be a favorite.

Bart Simpson

The same year the Simpsons Thanksgiving episode aired, the Bart Simpson balloon made it’s first appearance in the parade. I was a huge Simpsons fan at the time and seeing the Bart balloon made me very excited.

Spider Man

I was always a fan of the web slinger and was always psyched to see him in the parade when I was younger because he wasn’t on TV as much as he’s been lately. Also, the balloon always had a cool action pose, which separated it from the other balloons.

Mickey Mouse

Mickey has been in the parade since 1934 and has been going strong ever since.  The fourth version was released in 2009 and is Captain Mickey, who is promoting the Disney Cruise line. I’m a big fan of Disney and especially the parks so seeing the mouse make an appearance is always great.

Pikachu

This is more because of my youngest brother. He was very young and into Pokemon. I took him to the parade at Times Square in 1999 and there was a huge poster of Pokemon the movie. We also talked about Pokemon all day. There was no Pikachu that year in the parade but everytime I see his balloon, I remember that day and what a fun time I had.

Kermit the Frog

Who doesn’t like Kermit the Frog or the Muppets? Again, I would like to see Kermit in the parade as a kid because I used to love the Muppet show and other movies like the Muppets Take Manhattan. Kermit gets more screen time due to Disney and their new movie so he’s now more relevant than ever. He also sang Rainbow Connection, possibly one of the best movie songs of all time.

Ronald McDonald

Every kid loves going to McDonalds. I would always get excited whenever the family car would pull into the parking lot and the same thing happens to my son. The only difference is that my son unfortunately doesn’t know about Grimace, the Hamburgler, or the Fry Guys. For shame.

Garfield

I’m a big fan of the lasagna eating cat and his primetime animated specials, which is why I like his balloon. I couldn’t tell you how many times I saw his Halloween or Christmas special. I discovered the Thanksgiving special a few years ago on DVD and I’ve grown to love that one too. You can’t go wrong with Garfield.

B. Boy

B. Boy or Balloon Boy debuted last year and was created by Tim Burton. It’s such a crazy balloon and is a weird fit for the parade so I became an instant fan. I love Tim Burton’s animated works so that’s another reason it’s on this list. I hope he becomes a regular.

Do you have any favorites that are not listed here? Post them in the comments below!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Top 10 Macy’s Parade Balloons”

  1. fernando Says:

    i’d like you to post the homer simpson balloon, i know that the bart’s balloon was displayed in the 1991 macy’s parade but about the homer balloon I don’nt know, just I know about homer’s balloon cause i saw him in a scene of a picture but a dont even remember which picture because i was on my duties and never saw it before.

  2. huge snoopy doll Says:

    huge snoopy doll

    My Top 10 Macy’s Parade Balloons | Berdo’s Retrospecting Day Parade

Leave a Reply

