Thanksgiving Snacks

Whenever I find any weird stuff in the supermarket, I always try to get a blog post in to let others know what’s out there, just in case any hermits visit my blog. Now, since this is a Thanksgiving countdown, I thought it would be sweet to speak about some seasonal stuff I saw sitting on shelves. I’m always on the lookout and I saw this:

It’s Pumpkin Spice Country Crock butter. I’ve gained a taste for Pumpkin Spice because of Starbucks and their flavored lattes. I buy them up as soon as they appear in stores and when I saw this butter in the supermarket, I knew that I had to have it.

To be fair, there’s is not anything on the packaging that mentions Thanksgiving at all, however I usually equate Autumn to October and November, and November is all about the turkey stuff. I also needed an excuse to see how pumpkin spice and butter tasted together. I never had bi butter before.

The texture of the butter is slightly firmer and maybe even a little bit dryer than regular butter. It would slightly crack when I stuck the butter knife into it so I can make a spread on my toast.

The butter looks kinda funny because it looks like I’m trying to eat toast with mustard. There are tiny brown specks in it, similar to pumpkin spice drinks and the like.

The result? Not bad at all. I really thought it was going to be one of those products that you eat maybe three times and then toss it in the trash because it’s too much, but they found a decent balance. I may be able to actually finish the tub. Now I’m off to put “eat toast with mustard” on my to-do list out of curiosity.

I got one more thing to cover since I never tried it before and this was definitely Thanksgiving:

Thanksgiving Sugar Cookies! Really, it’s just sugar cookies, but I love what Pillsbury did here. The Dough Boy is decked out in Pilgrim gear, complete with the hat, there’s turkeys on the actual cookies, and it’s in an orange box. What’s not to like?

I’ve never seen these cookies before, and I don’t understand why. I looked at the back of the box and there’s different designs made specifically for different holidays.

There’s Thanksgiving, Halloween, Christmas, etc. Hell, there’s even cookies for Back to School. I guess something to ease the pain.

After I opened the box, I lined up the cookies and I couldn’t help noticing how small they were. I don’t cook much cookies but I expected something bigger than this.

 Two inch diameter cookies. Yea…

So I popped them into the oven real quick and the cookies did get a little bigger, which was cool. I’m thinking they are probably for young children, and they were pretty good. I guess it’s hard to mess up sugar cookies.

So it was an easy make and there were a lot of cookies. I would say both products are a win, especially the pumpkin spice. I’d like to say that I’ll review more Thanksgiving products, but the countdown ends tomorrow! What am I gonna do now?

I guess party.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Snacks”

  1. Jason Says:

    The Pilsbury Dough Boy looks adorable in his pilgrim getup. I noticed that the box says 24 cookies. I counted 25 uncooked ones in the next to last photo. Did you buy more than 1 box? Or did you get an extra one free of charge?

Leave a Reply

