Thanksgiving Coffee?

I love to go to Starbucks. I don’t go because it’s the thing to do, but I love the taste of their coffee. Then there’s the frappachinos and specialty flavors that I love and look forward to. When autumn comes around, the pumpkin spice coffee flavor is available and when December is getting close, the gingerbread, peppermint, and eggnog flavors are devoured by many customers, including myself. However, about this same time last year I entered the local Starbucks and I saw something that caught my attention, and in a good way.

Yes! Starbucks released a special seasonal coffee flavor called Thanksgiving Blend. I’ve seen coffee bags for Christmas and other holidays but not for the November holiday. I quickly purchased it and enjoyed it. As the fall season came around this year, I hoped that the Thanksgiving blend would return and luckily for me, it did.

Now, the thought has crossed my mind that Starbucks manufactured this coffee specifically to exploit the holiday, but who cares. As long there’s something different with the coffee and not solely with packaging, it’s fine by me. They exploit it by selling this product, I exploit it by purchasing the product, and Thanksgiving awareness spreads with each bag sold; it’s win-win-win!

I also like this blend through the packaging. The person in marketing in charge of this product and I are like-minded. The shiny orange color is awesome and the light pattern of leaves and other plants really fits the autumn tone. Also, there is a silhouette of a turkey on the front of the bag, solidifying the idea of turkey and Thanksgiving being synonymous.

There is also writing on each side of the bag and both pieces are well written. Just look at the side of one bag here:

How awesome was that? That description is basically why I started this Thanksgiving countdown. The ideas stated in that piece is what I think of when I think of Thanksgiving. I should have just stole the statement and used it on my blog.

It also appears that the coffee was made to mesh well with traditional Thanksgiving dishes as well. Check out what the other side of the bag states:

It’s stating that the coffee flavor goes well with eating turkey, stuffing, and pumpkin pie. That screams all kinds of awesome. Not only could you serve eggnog after the feast, but this coffee would be an excellent drink, especially since turkey makes you sleepy and you probably inhaled a pound of white meat earlier.

Even opening the bag lets you know that this coffee is something special. The aroma is stunning and you will probably be mistaken for a weirdo when you are constantly caught with your nose in the bag.

Sniff it up!

I use a french press because I think it makes the coffee taste better. I’m certainly not a coffee connoisseur by any means, but I think the taste is more rich and way less watery than a coffee drip just by trial and error from making coffee. Either that, or I’m just trying to justify spending $20 on a french press.

Makes damn good coffee (I think).

So how does it taste? Pretty damn good. It has a flavor that goes well after a big meal. I made some after a hearty dinner and it hit the spot. I also had it last year at Thanksgiving and it was really good. If you get the opportunity to have some, I’d recommend it.

Oh man, I just realized that you could probably order a cup of this stuff at Starbucks. Give it a shot next time and let me know what you think.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Coffee?”

  1. Hoverbored Says:

    I don’t like coffee, but a nice hot chocolate could hit the spot this season!

    Have you noticed that McDonald’s is promoting the McRib as a Christmas item?

    • berdorules Says:

      I did notice that about the McRib. That shit is weird, especially since I noticed it in October. Also, you’d think a BBQ sandwich would be promoted in the summer.

Leave a Reply

