Feastmas!

Today is the first day of Feastmas. Not an original title, but the content is what’s important. During the month of November, I am writing a Thanksgiving inspired article everyday until Thanksgiving. I’ve decided to do this because I read several blogs that have Halloween countdowns, Christmas countdowns, and even daily summer postings. While these articles are enjoyable to read, I have not seen any Thanksgiving countdowns nor have I seen the holiday represented on a scale similar to other major celebrations (blogwise). I should also mention that Thanksgiving is one of my two favorite holidays, the other being Christmas. I started this blog in the month of November and daily posting is a good way to celebrate two years of writing here.

The first thing I’m gonna talk about is something that has become an annual tradition for me. It’s the Gobbler sandwich from Wawa. Wawa is a gas station that also has a convenience store for travelers who needs to take a break and load up on snacks. The store also has a deli inside and they make all kinds of sandwiches that one can choose with self-ordering touch-screen machines, which is great for us folk who hate people.

The Gobbler is a turkey sandwich on a hero bun. It also has stuffing, a cranberry relish and gravy poured on top. I’m sure other food prep stores make this kind of sandwich but I haven’t seen any around my way, which is crazy because how can anyone go wrong with a Thanksgiving hoagie?

Hells Yeah!

The sandwich is pretty good. I don’t think it will win sandwich of the year, but it is a great preview to the epic feast that comes later on in the month. I really enjoy it and I have ordered it for the past few years.

There are no Wawa stores in New York, but I always stop at one whenever I go to Six Flags Great Adventure. The store is regional and currently can only be found in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland and Virginia. However, this store is right off the highway exit that leads to the theme park. This is a strategic area for Wawa because I always stop there when the park closes to  load up on sandwiches, Red Bulls, and Monster coffee drinks for the drive home on that dark-as-hell NJ Turnpike up to Staten Island.   Hell, the store is usually crowded with park-goers stocking up on snacks as well.

The sandwich usually appears near the end of October, which is perfect because I normally go to Fright Fest around the time the sandwich is available. So although I’m celebrating Halloween at Great Adventure, the sandwich is a taste of things to come. It’s also funny to see park employees ordering food in their zombie makeup. I don’t think they have a side order of brains…although that would be kind of cool.

If you live near a Wawa or see one when the Gobble promotion is out, I’d suggest giving it a try. Maybe you’ll like it. I’m betting you will, but you don’t have to take my word for it.

(Cue the Reading Rainbow fanfare music)

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Feastmas!”

  1. Sam Frank Says:

    Wow, what a great find – I’ve never seen a Thanksgiving Countdown before, but this is the perfect thing to keep me from jumping the gun on my own Christmas preparations! Thanks for putting the link over on X-E!
    ~Sam

    • berdorules Says:

      Yeah, I was surprised no one gives Thanksgiving it’s props. I had to make this countdown, especially since I already count the days in my mind. The holiday truly is about food, folks, and fun.

      • Sam Frank Says:

        I’m just leaving a job in retail and yesterday all of our red, green, and white cardboard snowflakes were hanging from the ceiling – too soon! I look forward to keeping up with your countdown!

  2. penguin_poet Says:

    How nice that you’re counting down to my birthday.

    I know that for many Thanksgiving is just a warm-up to Santa’s big ride. It was a little more so for me as a kid because Thanksgiving meant (birthday) presents. How is a child in that situation supposed to differentiate!?

    Only as an adult, after I took on feast preparation duties, did I come to recognize the beauty of Thanksgiving as its own, separate thing.

    I suppose I could also chalk that up to the diminishing meaning of birthdays as an adult.

    • berdorules Says:

      A birthday on Thanksgiving would be pretty sweet. Mine sometimes fall on Columbus Day so I sometimes have a day off. I would rather have a turkey than a cake.

  3. cheap luxury perfume Says:

    Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

  4. buy cheap bass fishingboat online Says:

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

  5. Sherita Says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page
    yet again.

  6. Awesome Foods Says:

    I go to see each day a few websites and information sites to read articles or reviews, however this website provides feature based content.

  7. best cheapest fragrances Says:

    Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited
    from this web site.

  8. ebay misspelled Says:

    I am in fact grateful to the holder of this web page
    who has shared this impressive article at at this place.

Leave a Reply

