8th day of Christmas!

Well, it is the beginning of January and the end of the holiday season. People have started taking down their Christmas decorations and some stores already have their Valentine’s Day products on display. Some people take down their Christmas tree right after Christmas Day and some take it down right after New Years. I personally think the decorations removal is premature and have a good excuse to think that.

This is the part of the holiday season that I hate. I look forward to a new year of hope and opportunity, but the long, boring months of winter are ahead. I also don’t like to take down my decorations. Not because I don’t like to do the work, but because it emphasizes that the coolness of the holiday season is over.

But is the holiday season over? Most retailers would tell you that, but it’s not. Believe it or not, January 1st is still part of the twelve days of Christmas. Everyone knows the song, “The Twelve Days of Christmas,” which always ends with the partridge in a pear tree.

partridge

No relation to that God-awful family

However, the twelve days traditionally include Christmas Day and end on January 5th. Some believe that the first day begins on the evening on Christmas Day and ends on January 6th, which is also considered “Three Kings Day,” or “The Feast of the Epiphany.” It is religious tradition that the first day started on Christmas, but retailers redefined the days to the twelve days before Christmas to motivate shoppers to buy more gifts.

Three Kings Day is the celebration of of the wise men/magi who found baby Jesus, worshiped him, and gave him the presents of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. The day is also called The Feast of the Epiphany. This epiphany is the revelation of the son of God in human form in Jesus Christ, which goes hand in hand with the magi making this discovery. I assume that people who celebrated this day made some sort of feast.

3 kings

The 3 Kings, or uh, wise men, or uh Magi?

One of the traditions of January 6th is the taking down of decorated trees to be burned in a bonfire (lol, Al Gore must be spinning in his private plane if he’s reading this). Children loved this because toys and sweets that were on the tree were then given to them. Currently, Three Kings Day is celebrated among different cultures, including Hispanic culture, which is how I originally knew about this day. My parents didn’t celebrate this day but I have heard about it through word of mouth. Cheap bastards.

Since the “real” twelve days of Christmas end on Jan 5th/6th, it would not be improper to consider every day Christmas until then. When I discovered this history a few years ago, I decided to keep the decorations up until after the Kings day and I gotta admit, it is pretty cool to extend the Christmas spirit. Although I am a Capitalist, Capitalism does not dictate what I should believe. Stores can put up whatever Valentine’s crap that they want. It still is Christmas and no amount of chocolate hearts will make me believe otherwise.

heart

Merry Christmas.


BTW, why the heck would Al Gore read this blog? LOL

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “8th day of Christmas!”

  1. pauledwardson Says:

    3 Kings should totally be emphasized more. I admit, for me Santa seems like a consumerist idea, and the 3 kings represents the gift giving aspect better, IMHO. Btw, the new blog is up. It’s different than the RBH, but this way I have a little more freedom and less things holding me back. In time it’ll be as good if not better than the RBH.

  2. dthombs Says:

    Nice information. I knew about the three kings day after many years in school/church, but didn’t know some of the others.

    I didn’t want to take down my decorations, but the tree was getting dangerously dry, and I had the week off to actually put in the work of putting things away. Otherwise they stay up for far too long, and some even make it until the next year.

    • berdorules Says:

      Yeah, I would take it down if it was too dry. My tree is just starting to turn brown but that’s because I’ve been very vigilant in the watering. Heck, acorns are starting to grow on it. lol

  3. Jason Says:

    This was an informing post. Now I have my new knowledge of the day! I like to leave up my decorations up until after the new year. My wife wanted to take down the decorations this past weekend, but that didn’t happen. Maybe I can convince her to keep them up for another 3 days. 🙂

  4. The 12 days of Christmas! (via Berdo’s Blog) | Write, Read, Watch Says:

    […] Well, it is the beginning of January and the end of the holiday season. People have started taking down their Christmas decorations and some stores already have their Valentine's Day products on display. Some people take down their Christmas tree right after Christmas Day and some take it down right after New Years. I personally think the decorations removal is premature and have a good excuse to think that. This is the part of the holiday season … Read More […]

  5. Displayschutz Says:

    Displayschutz Kamera…

    8th day of Christmas! « Berdo's Retrospecting Day Parade…

Leave a Reply

